The Law Office of Rajeh A Saadeh LLC
Serving All Of New Jersey
Powerful Advocacy | Client-Focused Solutions
Call Now

Sophisticated Counsel. Smart Strategies.

The New Jersey counties with the most DUI arrests

On Behalf of | Jul 3, 2019 | Uncategorized

 It seems like there are always headlines about drunk driving crackdowns, with law enforcement agencies announcing a special focus on DUI enforcement during specific time periods. The reality, of course, is that people are arrested and accused of drunk driving all the time.

Still, there are some areas of the state where the numbers show arrests occur more often.

Counties with the most DUI charges

Where are DUI charges occurring? All across the state of course, but a USA Today study found drivers in Monmouth County racked up 2,720 DUI charges over the course of a year – the highest total for any county in New Jersey. Next on the list:

  • Middlesex County – 2,400 DUI charges
  • Camden County – 2,379
  • Bergen County – 2,209
  • Burlington County – 1,988

Monmouth, Middlesex and Bergen are among the more populous counties in the state, while Camden and Burlington fall closer to the middle. The New Jersey counties with the fewest DUI charges during that same time period were the five smallest counties by population: Cape May (745 arrests), Hunterdown (596), Sussex (533), Warren (496) and Salem (294). 

Other stats about drunk driving

While the USA Today analysis did not give a breakdown of who is arrested for drunk driving, or when, crash statistics can offer some clues.

For example, according to the State of New Jersey’s Highway Safety Plan, drivers between 21 and 35 years old accounted for nearly half of all alcohol-related crashes from 2012-16. In addition, male drivers accounted for about 70 percent of alcohol-related crashes during that time. It’s also worth noting most alcohol-related crashes occur between 7 p.m. and 5 a.m., often on weekends.

A drunk driving arrest can feel daunting, especially when you consider the repercussions of a DUI offense: court fees, license suspension, or maybe even jail time. Just because someone was charged does not mean they are guilty, however. An attorney can assess most situations and may be able to help ensure law enforcement followed all proper testing, arrest and investigative procedures to the letter of the law.