COVID-19 Notice: In order to best serve you while doing our part to maximize health and safety, we continue to be available for telephone and video conferences, and documents can be prepared, reviewed, signed, and exchanged electronically. Call 908-396-8330 for your legal needs!

Serving All Of New Jersey
The Right Lawyers Make a Difference
Call Now
The Right Lawyers Make a Difference

Too many tickets will get your license suspended

In New Jersey, your driver’s license can be suspended if you accumulate 12 points worth of traffic offenses in one year.

After the hardship of losing driving privileges, you could be hit with reinstatement fees, annual surcharges and steeper auto insurance premiums. It may be worth the time and expense to fight the traffic ticket in municipal court.

Avoid these high-point offenses

New Jersey statute assigns a point value to all traffic offenses. They range from 0-point minor infractions to major moving violations punishable by jail time. Racking up a total of 12 points within a 12-month period triggers driver’s license suspension.

While it’s possible to lose your license from a fistful of simple speeding tickets, it’s usually one or more high-point citations that push people over the top:

8 points

  • Leaving the scene of a personal injury accident

5 points

  • Passing a stopped school bus
  • Tailgating
  • Racing on the highway
  • Reckless driving
  • Speeding more than 30 mph over the posted limit
  • Failure to pass to the right of a vehicle going the other direction

4 points

  • Speeding 15 to 29 mph over the posted limit
  • Passing in a no-passing zone
  • Improper passing on the right
  • Improper passing on a turnpike/expressway

NOTE: No license points are levied for DUI, but (a) a conviction usually triggers license suspension and (b) a DUI counts as 9 insurance points which means your insurer will drop you or require you to purchase a special high-risk (and very expensive) policy.

Avoid any traffic offenses

If you accumulate 6 or more points within 3 years of your last offense, you will have to pay a surcharge to the State of New Jersey. The surcharge is $150 plus $25 for each point over six, and can be levied annually until you drop back below 6 cumulative points. Your insurance company will also raise your rates at a certain point total or for certain offenses.

An attorney can explore the consequences a traffic offense and possible grounds for getting the ticket dismissed or reduced. The Law Office of Rajeh A. Saadeh represents citizens in municipal courts of central New Jersey, including traffic cases.



10.0Rajeh A Saadeh
Rajeh A SaadehClients’ ChoiceAward 2018
Rajeh A SaadehReviewsout of 52 reviews